This document contains contact points within Australia that are relevant to privacy advocates. A separate page provides contact-points for international organisations. The Departments are:

The links in this page are reviewed periodically. Please advise any broken links, or suggested enhancements, to the APF Web-Team.

Privacy Advocacy Organisations (in alphabetical order)

Australian Human Rights Information Centre (AHRIC)

Australian Lawyers for Human Rights
Fax: +61 2 9399 6154

Australian Privacy Foundation

Campaign for Fair Privacy Laws

c/- Chris Connolly
(02) 9281 4452

[ Civil Rights Network (CRN) – defunct?

Communications Law Centre (CLC)
(02) 9663 0552, (02) 9662 6839

Council for Civil Liberties Organisations:

Australian Council for Civil Liberties

Civil Liberties Australia
Box 7438 Fisher ACT 2611
Phone: Secretary Bill Rowlings on (02) 6288 6137

Liberty Victoria
GPO Box 3161, Melbourne, Victoria 3001
Phone: (03) 9670 6422, Fax: (03) 9670 6433

NSW Council for Civil Liberties Inc.
PO Box 201, Glebe NSW 2037
Ph: (02) 9660 7582, Fax: (02) 9566 4162

Queensland Council for Civil Liberties
Contact Points:
PO Box 2281, Brisbane QLD 4001
Phone: 0409 624 646

Tasmanian Council for Civil Liberties

Was at
P.O. Box 12, Cygnet, Tasmania 7112
P: (03) 6295 1214, F: (03) 6295 1214

Electronic Frontiers Australia (EFA)
Contact Points:

[ Human Rights and Security Network, of Amnesty International, NSW – defunct?

[ Rights Australia – defunct?
PO Box 559, Surry Hills NSW 2010
Telephone (02) 9269 0569, Fax (02) 9698 5077

Consumer Advocacy Organisations (in alphabetical order)

Australian Communications Consumer Action Network (ACCAN)
CEO Teresa Corbin
Suite 4.02, 55 Mountain Street, Ultimo NSW 2007
Telephone (02) 9288 4000, Fax (02) 9288 4019

Australian Consumer Association (ACA)

Catherine Raffaele,, (02) 9577 3333, 9577 3222

Consumer Action Law Centre (CALC)

Catriona Lowe and Carolyn Bond, co-CEOs, (03) 9670 5088

[ Consumer Credit Legal Service (CCLS) – see Consumer Action Law Centre (CALC)

Consumers’ Health Forum of Australia (CHF)
(02) 6273 5444, Fax: (02) 6273 5888, Manuka ACT 2603

[ Consumer Law Centre Victoria (CLCV) – see Consumer Action Law Centre (CALC)

[ Consumer Telecommunications Network – subsumed into ACCAN in mid-2009]

Digital Tasmania – For Tasmanian consumers in the digital age
Andrew Connor, 0432 870 881
P.O. Box 15, Prospect TAS 7250

Electronic Service Delivery Network

A Victorian-based affiliation of organisations and individuals addressing issues and implications for the delivery of state government services through online systems, including privacy matters, accessibility and equity. Convenor: Jan Whitaker,

[ Financial Services Consumer Policy Centre – defunct?, UNSW, (02) 9281 4452

Health Issues Centre

Tony McBride,
Level 5, Health Sciences Building 2, La Trobe University VIC 3086
Phone (03) 9479 5827, Fax (03) 9479 5977

Internet Society of Australia (ISOC-AU)

Holly Raiche, Exec Director,, (03) 9288 0555, Fax: (03) 9288 0666
Tony Hill, President

Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC)

Robin Banks, Chief Executive Officer,
299 Elizabeth St, Sydney NSW 2000
(02) 8898 6500, Fax: (02) 8898 6555

Privacy Oversight Agencies

Human Rights Commissions

These agencies have been proliferating, and they’ve now been put on their own page.

Newspapers’ Addresses for ‘Letters to the Editor’

Here are the ways that we’re aware of for sending Letters to the Editors of the major newspapers:

Relevant Portfolios and Ministers (last reviewed August 2004)

In order to provide the appearance of doing something, governments change the names and responsibilities of ministerial portfolios frequently. Here’s the best we could do, as at August 2004:

Registered Political Parties

Major Political Parties

Some Key Players (last reviewed February 2007)

Party Position Email
Labor Kevin Rudd (Leader)
Tanya Plibersek (Human Services)
Joe Ludwig (Attorney-General)
Kate Lundy
Peter Garrett
Greens Senator Bob Brown (Leader)
Senator Kerry Nettle
Liberal Leader: John Howard MP
Attorney-General: Philip Ruddock MP
IT: Senator Helen Coonan
Steven Ciobo
National Mark Vaile (Leader)
Ron Boswell (Leader in the Senate)
Barnaby Joyce
 Independents Steve Fielding
 (Senate) Nigel Scullion (Country Liberal, NT)
Independents Peter Andren
(House of Reps) Bob Katter
Tony Windsor